UC Irvine's Season Ends to UCLA at Los Angeles Regional

UC Irvine's Season Ends to UCLA at Los Angeles Regional

Box score

LOS ANGELES --- UC Irvine's 2010 season came to an end Sunday night in a 6-2 loss to top-seeded UCLA in the Los Angeles Regional at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Six Anteaters were named to the All-Tournament Team as UCI ended the season 39-21 overall.

Third-seeded UCI made its fifth straight trip to the NCAA postseason, and sixth in the last seven years, falling to LSU in the opening game before defeating Kent State and LSU to set up the final match-up against the Bruins.

UCLA (46-13) opened the scoring in the top of the second as Niko Gallego tripled home Cody Regis.

UCI answered in the bottom of the frame as Drew Hillman's homer tied the game at 1-1. Hillman also homered in Sunday afternoon's victory over LSU.

The Bruins went up 3-1 in the top of the third as Beau Amaral scored on a double by Blair Dunlap and Chris Giovinazzo's infield single later brought home Dunlap.

Jordan Leyland hit a one-out homer in the bottom of the fifth to draw UCI within one at 3-2, but Regis hit a three-run shot in the eighth to extend UCLA's lead to 6-2.

D.J. Crumlich had three hits for the `Eaters while Hillman and Jonathan Hurst each posted a two-hit game. Eric Pettis (9-5) took the loss for UCI, going four innings and allowing five hits and three runs. Matt Summers pitched a season-high five innings, striking out five while allowing three runs on two hits.

Rob Rasmussen picked up the win for the Bruins, striking out seven in six innings while yielding five hits and two runs. Erik Goeddel and Dan Klein blanked the Anteaters in the final three innings, giving up two hits apiece in the winning effort.

Senior Francis Larson was named the all-tournament catcher after hitting .353 (6 for 17) with three home runs and eight RBI.

Jeff Cusick also ended his collegiate career as an all-tournament member after hitting 7 for 18 (.383), including two doubles and six runs batted in.

Casey Stevenson was stellar defensively while batting 7 for 18 (.389) with a double and three RBI.

Drew Hillman, who heated up the plate at the conclusion of the regular season, took the momentum into postseason play, where he was voted an all-tournament outfielder. Hillman led the team with eight hits (8 for 15), including a double and a pair of home runs while driving in three runs.

Jordan Leyland took the designated hitter’s spot on the all-tournament team after hitting .385 (5 for 13) with two doubles, two home runs and five RBI.

Freshman Evan Brock came away with all-tournament pitching honors after two solid outings, striking out nine in 8.1 innings while allowing four runs on seven hits and earning the win against LSU.

The Los Angeles Regional All-Tournament Team
MVP: Trevor Bauer – UCLA
C: Francis Larson – UCI
1B: Jeff Cusick – UCI
2B: Casey Stevenson – UCI S
S: Niko Gallego – UCLA
3B: Cody Regis – UCLA
OF: Beau Amaral – UCLA
OF: Drew Hillman – UCI
OF: Leon Landry – LSU
DH: Jordan Leyland – UCI
P: Gerrit Cole – UCLA
P: Evan Brock - UCI

Back To Top